# ARIZONA BOXING AND MIXED MARTIAL ARTS COMMISSION SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT 2018-01 RELATING TO STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS

(Effective September 26, 2018)

Pursuant to A.R.S. §§ 41-1001(22) and 41-1091, this substantive policy statement provides guidance to Arizona Department of Gaming employees (the "Department"), Arizona Boxing and Mixed Martial Arts Commission (the "Commission"), and Commission licensees.

This substantive policy statement is advisory only. A substantive policy statement does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal procedures of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules made in accordance with the Arizona administrative procedure act. If you believe that this substantive policy statement does impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties you may petition the agency under section 41-1033, Arizona Revised Statutes ("A.R.S."), for a review of the statement.

This policy is to be used in conjunction with the rules outlined in Title 19, Chapter 2, Article 6 of the Arizona Administrative Code ("A.A.C."). This substantive policy statement sets forth the manner in which the Commission may interpret and implement A.A.C. R19-2-B602.

## 1. Guidance for Promoters/Matchmakers:

- a. An event request must be submitted to the Commission at least <u>60 days</u> in advance of the Championship, per A.A.C. R19-2-B601(B)(1).
- b. In addition to the event fees listed in A.A.C. R19-2-B608 and R19-2-C603, an additional fee of two-hundred and fifty dollars (\$250.00) shall be paid to the Commission for all Championship events, pursuant to R19-2-C603(C)(6). If a promoter holds multiple Championships at the same event; the additional fee will not be charged for each Championship bout that occurs on the same bout card at the same event.
- c. The promoter shall supply gloves in compliance with A.A.C. R19-2-D602(B) and R19-2-D603(B).
- d. The promoter shall not advertise the Championship prior to the approval required by A.A.C. R19-2-B601(E).

### 2. Guidance for Combatants:

- a. A combatant must prove eligibility for the Championship pursuant to A.A.C. R19-2-B602. "Bona fide" Arizona residence may be established by those documents listed in A.R.S. § 1-502 to show U.S. citizenship, and by those methods acceptable under A.R.S. § 15-1802(G) and (H), to show domicile in Arizona.
- b. All combatants shall sign a Combatant/Promoter contract which shall state the agreement is for a Championship bout, which shall be submitted to A.A.C. R19-2-B601(D). Amateur combatants shall not be compensated.

- c. A combatant who has competed in a professional world title bout, sanctioned by any recognized sanctioning body, shall not be eligible to compete for a State Championship.
- d. Weigh-Ins shall occur as outlined in A.R.S. § 5-225(E). A combatant shall not exceed the contractual weight. At the time of weigh-ins, there shall not be more than a five-pound variance between combatants competing for a Championship bout. A combatant who exceeds the contractual weight may still compete, if the weight variance is within five-pounds, but will not be eligible for the title.
- e. A State Champion must defend his/her title within 10-months of the Championship bout. Failure to defend the Championship or refusing to accept a reasonable offer by a challenger to defend the Championship within 10-months will result in the title being vacated. The Commission may also vacate a title, as it deems necessary, for any violations listed in A.A.C. R19-2-C601(J), or if the combatant moves from amateur to professional, or the fighter changes weight class.
- f. A combatant can hold an Arizona State Title in only one weight class, per discipline, at one time. The only exception is in Mixed Martial Arts ("MMA"), where one amateur Champion and one professional Champion may exist in the same weight class at the same time. A combatant who is licensed in both Boxing and MMA may compete for the title in each discipline, provided the individual meets requirements established in this substantive policy statement and in the rules and laws that underlie this substantive policy statement.

#### 3. Guidance for the Commission:

- a. The Commission may use a variety of factors in determining ability, such as amateur record and accomplishments, record as reported by the official registry of record, quality of prior contests and opponents, prior suspensions and or disciplinary actions, activity within the preceding twelve months, compliance with Arizona licensing requirements, medical condition, and any other relevant factors the Commission deems necessary in determining a combatant's suitability for a Championship fight, in conformance with A.A.C. R19-2-C601(J).
- b. The Commission shall assign a steward to all Championship bouts, to maintain custody of the title belt until a winner has been announced; and to independently record the scores on an official score sheet to ensure accuracy.
- c. The presenter of the title belt will be decided by the Commission.
- d. The title belt is property of the State of Arizona and shall be retained by the Commission after presentation to the winner. The promoter should present the winner with either a duplicate belt, trophy or any other award, and all substitute prizes should be submitted for Commission approval at the same time as the event request.
- e. The winner may be allowed to borrow the title belt for media interviews, presentations, or other purposes as approved by the Commission. The belt must be returned to the Commission in the same condition as it was loaned out. The combatant may be held liable for any damages or any loss or theft of the belt, and

may be required to post security to insure payment for damages. If returned unharmed, the security will be refunded or released.

## 4. Boxing Championships:

- a. The Association of Boxing Commissions Unified Rules of Boxing (the "ABC Boxing Rules") are chosen to apply to all State Boxing Championships, as allowed under A.A.C. R19-2-D601(A). In the event the ABC Boxing Rules are silent on any topic, the Commission rules will govern.
- b. The weight classes for a Boxing Championship shall be consistent with the weight classes established by the official registry of record, as decided by the Association of Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports.
- c. A State Boxing Championship shall consist of either six or eight rounds. A combatant shall have previously competed in a six- or eight-round contest, or be eligible to move up to six or eight rounds based on record and demonstrated ability, as determined by the Commission.
  - i. Six-round contest both combatants shall have previously competed in at least five verified bouts, with the last two bouts resulting in a win, or with an eighty percent win record overall.
  - ii. Eight-round contest both combatants shall have previously competed in at least seven verified bouts, with the last two bouts resulting in a win or with an eighty percent win record overall.
- d. Each round and rest period shall comply with A.A.C. R19-2-D602(J)(2), unless otherwise approved by the Commission.

# 5. Mixed Martial Arts Championships:

- a. The Association of Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports Unified Rules of Mixed Martial Arts (the "ABC MMA Rules") are chosen to apply to all State MMA Championships, as allowed under A.A.C. R19-2-D601(A) and A.R.S. § 5-225(C). In the event the ABC MMA Rules are silent on any topic, the Commission rules will govern.
- b. The weight classes for a MMA Championship shall be consistent with the MMA Unified weight classes established by the Association of Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports.
- c. The number of rounds and the duration of the rounds for a State MMA Championship shall be consistent with the rules outlined in A.A.C. R19-2-D603(J).
  - i. Amateur combatants both combatants shall have previously competed in at least five verified bouts, with the last two bouts resulting in a win, or with an eighty percent win record overall.
  - ii. Professional combatants both combatants shall have previously competed in at least three verified amateur bouts and at least five verified professional bouts with the last two professional bouts resulting in a win, or with an eighty percent win record overall.